Collect in Texas Short: A New Spring

A new spring.

The seasons don’t last long in Texas. Sure it gets cold in the winter and hot in the summer. Who am I kidding? It gets damn hot in the summer. Yet still, the weather always changes. Always sooner rather than later too.

As winter’s end draws near, it’s hard not to remember the things I keep trying to forget. The game. The girl. Those thoughts tend to linger longer than others.

What could I have done? What should I have done?

It’s not like I meant for it to happen. I didn’t think it would end that way. Got to remember the past is the past. What’s done is done.

Anyhow, it’s almost spring now and things are turning green again. I’ve got to head back south today. It won’t be long before I’m back on that field. Maybe this time it won’t end so badly. Or if it does, the blame will rest on some other poor sap’s shoulders.

I hear we got a new fella this year that’s supposed to knock the cover off the ball. Someone with real moxie. They say he swings so hard, ah…you get the picture. It’s a simple game really. Throw the ball, catch the ball, hit the ball. Just got to keep your eye on the ball.

Which reminds me, did you know she wasn’t from Texas? I found out she had just moved from up north. D.C. I hear. Something about some senator that treated her badly. Which got me to thinking, was there ever really much truth to her at all? Well, there has to be at least some truth. I still remember her face and that night. Maybe she just felt sorry for me. It was a tough loss.

I suppose she is living near Dallas now. Of course, that could have been a lie too. Doesn’t matter now anyway.

I think we’ll be good this year. If we can stay focused.

